The Alternative Music/Advertising Love Affair

Finally completed my blogging playlist – My 40 most -Shut-up-My-Song-Is-On- hits. So naturally I have to dedicate my post this morning to music!

The Highlight of a budding Advertising Major’s Week: Walking past the TV, hearing my absolute favorite song come on only to find it in the background of a brilliant originally written commercial from Bacardi
.Image

(http://www.bacardi.com/us/lda)


Ever since I saw this awesome Bacardi Ad, I’ve been dying to be 21 so I can be untameable too. Thank goodness I don’t have to be 21 to love the featured song Arctic Monkeys’ “Do I wanna Know”.

I can write an entire post about the execution of commercial director Dante Ariola’s killer ad, but that can wait for another day. For now I’m celebrating  “Do I Wanna Know” in its commercial debut, a truely glorious day for all Alternative music.

And it might be just me, but I have noticed a love affair developing between Alt Music and the Advertising Industry. Can you blame them though? Personally, I can thank them for at least 10 of my favorite songs. Maybe you’re familiar as well?

bacardiiii

Matt & Kim – Daylight (Bacardi)

2

1901 – Phoenix (Cadillac)

3

Landon Pigg – Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop (AT&T)

hp

Vampire Weekend – A Punk (HP)

6

Vampire Weekend – Holiday(Tommy Hilfiger)

Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition (Diet Coke)

4

The Black Keys – Tighten Up (Subaru)

Modest Mouse – Float On (OnStar)

5

New Politics – Harlem (Disney’s Frozen)

Thank Goodness for YouTuber Ducktree64! This YouTuber already had a nice compiled list that includes Most of my songs above with nice sound clips and all that Jazz.

For Now, Let us put my theory to the test. I’m going to be watching in 2014 to see if this Alt Music love affair is just a fad, or the new thing in the Advertising industry. I’m looking forward to seeing how much Alternative music will make it into the Superbowl XLVIII commercials.

Leave a Reply

