Why Do A Good Job When You Can Do A Crap Job..

… and No One Says Anything?

Is it just me or is this the understatement of the year? Entirely too many people have made this their life quote. Why do a good job when you can do a crap job and absolutely no one gives a tiny rat’s ass. Tell me I’m wrong.

rubbon

Here’s my real question. Why even try to do a good job, when people are just going to stop you. Not everyone is lacking in the “personal drive” area. I’m not good in stifling positions where I can’t push myself. I don’t do well with complacency. But that seems to be the special of the day in all other aspects of life lately. I feel like every time I’ve tried to show a little initiative, I am stopped dead in my tracks. I can’t even complete a task to the best of my ability without it causing a problem for some one else. I’m either stepping on someone’s toes, or I’m oblivious to the “appropriate time” for things.

It’s like everyone has an agenda, and you better hope you’re where you need to be on the agenda of the people above you. There is no room for going above and beyond. This is a desperate attempt at managing the rest of the crowd – the ones that wouldn’t know initiative if it stood on their head pecking at their ears. Not even at work. I’m discussing the entirety of life’s aspects. There are too many people who refuse to put in the effort into life. Why? Because they know idiots like me will cover their back sides.

I tired to stop.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t do it. I tried that motto on for size. It didn’t fit.  Why do a good  job when you can do a crap job.. and no one says anything? Because if you don’t, who will? It’s just not my personality to half-ass things. I’ve been in too many situations where I’ve not been up to par and someone has come behind me and confronted me for it. To be in a new position where no one comes behind me, it’s so easy to get lazy. But that is no way to live, and it doesn’t have to be that way. Working hard doesn’t have to be this hard.

good job

I’m not saying adorn me with ribbons or give me pats on the back. I’m not even asking for acknowledgement for my effort. I’m asking for acknowledgement that without effort – crap falls apart. And when it does, don’t look at me.

 

One thought on “Why Do A Good Job When You Can Do A Crap Job..

Leave a Reply

