Opportunity just played Ding Dong Ditch.

Confused Girl In a Dilemma Seeking Advice From Someone Smarter than Her. That’s you, my sweet reader. I need help.

I am having a work crisis. As many of you know, I am a blossoming Advertising Major. Anything communications, marketing, or advertising related falls into my line of passion. I don’t know how I developed such a sense for design and persuasion, but I know it’s what I am meant to do.

Not working in a gift shop. Currently, I love my job very much. I fit in perfectly into this boutique/gift store. It’s been the first  job I’ve been dreaming of since I was a little girl. It’s beautiful and organized and classy and fancy and bubbly and basically, perfect for my personality. It is such a unique and fun place… I feel like I belong there. But not forever.

I’m not ready to go yet though! The problem is, I got a job offer. The type of job offer you can’t pass up, and I didn’t even apply for it. I am a frequent shopper for their company and their crew just felt like I belong on their team. Plus it happens to be a massive career step in a field I am most passionate about. They want me to run their Social Media. I know. The pay would be better too. I’m talking the kind of pay that makes people advance in their lives.  Things like this don’t happen to people.

social media

Only, I would burn every single bridge I have built thus far. I know I would devastate my current job. Not to mention, there are legal risks involving competition. It would be a complete betrayal. Plus I really love my job at my current store. My bosses are incredible. Just amazing people. My co-workers are awesome. But they aren’t my future. They are my present. But I love them.

Here’s the kicker. I waited too long. My hesitation costed me the job. I went in to meet with the manager to ask exactly what cards are on the table. I wanted to know if it would be worth all that I am giving up. It turns out that the very same morning, they hired someone else. – BUT- I should put in my resume because she might not work out. She seemed pretty darn enthusiastic about my resume.

Ding Dong.

Hello?

Now I am even more confused. My perfect little dream job vs. My risky big dream job. My part timer vs. My career. It’s altogether likely that this opportunity will come back up again – soon. I can’t hesitate next time. But I don’t know what I want. Should my loyalty be to my job or my future?

I really do love my job…  Help me!

opportunity

4 thoughts on “Opportunity just played Ding Dong Ditch.

  1. Tough one, but you said ‘things like this don’t happen to people” – do it! Seize the opportunity. The worst things in life are when you say “what could’ve been” xx

  2. The “legal ramifications” are what had me worried. However, I would imagine you would remember signing a non-compete. Why don’t you ask your current manager if you can help with their social media/marketing or advertising? Turn your current job that you love into your career.

  3. First off – go you! It’s a tough problem, but it’s a definite shout-out from the universe telling you you’re on the right track, whatever you do. Second – people leave jobs all the time. Legal implications make it tricky (and burning bridges is never fun), but I’ve found the more honest you are with everyone, the better. Maybe submit the resume, and if an opportunity comes, take time to talk with them and let them know your concerns. See what comes of the convo. And above all, trust your gut!

  4. It is quite a quandary, but it sounds like you have some wonderful options 🙂 Personally, loving my job and liking the people I work with is important because you just spend so much time there. If you know you don’t want to be at the gift shop forever, then the only other thing you can do is move on when the right opportunity comes along. It may be at the right time, or not, as life likes throwing spanners in the works, ha ha.
    As long as you are happy and satisfied with the decision you made, that’s the most important thing! 🙂
    Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

