Writing Process

I started this blog after a very uneventful New Year’s Eve. January 1st, I woke up and told myself that I was embarking into a new year and it was going to be the best year ever. So I grabbed my laptop and started chugging away.

I actually had considered blogging before after realizing my career wasn’t going anywhere without some sort of portfolio of my work. Granted, I was a freshman in community college. I won’t have “work” for a portfolio until I transfer to the University of Tennessee.  But I figured, why not go ahead and get started.

Honestly, it is the best decision I have made thus far. I have connected with the most incredible people. So many doors have opened! I use my blog to inspire me to live a more exciting life. It’s made every day my blog puts more beauty, challenges, and opportunities into my life.

A few days ago, Erin from The Modern Notebook tagged me in this “My Writing Process” tour. I thought, what better way to improve my content than review it and share it!

1. What are you working on right now?

Right now, I’m trying to transition into more fashion focused posts. Unfortunately, starting a new job has me very busy and very distracted… I’ve been neglecting my content. I am working on more posts related to advertising (my field), more DIY posts for my creative endeavors(food, health, and pretty things in general, and more style and life posts.

2. How does your work differ from others of its genre?

What I love about blogging is how, within our niche, we all have so much in common. What makes us stand out is out personal stories. I get to give a down home Tennessee twist on what is trending. I get to give an Ad Major point of view. I have a Biracial young woman’s point of view. We all lead different lives and have different passions, but because we share this one, writing, we each get our own voice.

3. Why do you write what you do?

I write thoughts that I know I would read if anyone else had come up with them. Did that make sense? I shoot for enjoyable fun content, even when I am just venting. I love honest, blunt, real life bloggers and I try to write like that.

4. How does your writing process work?

I am so bad… I have no organized system or process. Between you and me, I have about 42 saved “Notes” in my phone of post blurb ideas that interrupt my daily life. Many of them survive the day and land online. The rest are chillin’ waiting or their day in the sun.

I also have a Pinterest board where I collect posts from other bloggers, inspirational quotes and photos, DIYS and Recipes to blog about, and just funny stuff I know my readers would appreciate. I draw a ton of ideas from there. It helps to have a master list when you’ve got writer’s block.

I also have about 20 ideas floating in the black hole that is my memory. All too many times, I come up with something brilliant. Then of course, I have to eat lunch and by the time I’m finished, it’s gone. So brace yourself! When those ideas come back to me, I’m sure I’ll rock this world!

Thanks again for tagging me, Erin!  Now I’m suppose to tag three people. Luckily for me, I have made a huge handful of new blog friends to get to know! So now to pick the brains of  Hilary from cutiecameras, Diana from dianasadventures, and Kate from layeredindulgence  . Let us know if and when you get to talking about your writing process. I’d love to hear about it!

And be sure to visit my wonderful friend Erin from http://www. modernnotebook.com

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Process

Leave a Reply

