Well, This is Awkward: Generic Quesitons

It has recently been brought to my attention that I am extremely awkward. Newsflash, right? Thank goodness it seems society is embracing it’s inner “awkward”. At one point, being awkward was kind of like a death sentence. You wanted to seem as cucumber cool as possible. Lately however, it seems like everyone is writing, sharing, and coming to terms with the fact that we’re all awkward.
awkwardd

I guess it’s become a tool to connect. You’re awkward. I’m awkward. Let’s be awkward together and share our horrible stories. It makes the “we’ll laugh about this someday” aspect really speed up.

So to celebrate this one large step for mankind, I thought, why not contribute to the collection of awkward moments? Starting with my latest.

awkward

Does anyone else do this?
Don’t get me wrong, I love my peace and quiet. But when I’m with company, I don’t dig awkward silence. I am a talker, and when I run out of subjects to discuss, I kinda panic. I’ve been known to ask “So, How are you doing?” 4-5 times in a row, back to back, spaced out only by a brief “good” or “fine”, followed by a painful pause. It’s not that I wasn’t paying attention! I was simply in subject hunter mode.

I feel like I ask these annoying generic questions over and over because my mind is trying to find a new topic to discuss. I’ll ask “What’s Up?” 3 times. The answer never changes, but maybe if I ask just once more. “What is new with you?” Nothing in the past 10 seconds, how about you? Oh you know, just trying to make small talk.

Wow, it’s painful just reliving it. Does it suck this much just to have a conversation with me? I mean, I learned back in 4th grade not to bring up the weather. You will get. Called. Out. What on Earth do you do then?

I’m really sorry guys. I can be quite the conversationalist when the topics keep coming! I could have a lively conversation with a brick wall and be perfectly content. But once I run out of subject matter,

Well, that’s just Awkward.

silence

 

6 thoughts on “Well, This is Awkward: Generic Quesitons

  1. Absolutely! Or you start talking about the weather, a piece of gossip you heard about a mutual friend, what you’re having for lunch…
    What happened to quality over quantity?

Leave a Reply

