“Welcome to the Marriott, How May I Assist You?”

It’s a quiet evening here at the Marriott tonight, so I thought I would use my break time to tell all about my fabulous new job! As far as the previous, let’s just say my Momma always told me that anything holding me back from success, remove it from your life.

So here I am at the beautiful Knoxville Marriott! Hooray! I was handing out Resumes like Pumpkin Spice Lattes to college girls!! I’ll be honest, I think the first phase of the interview process isn’t the interview. It’s the follow up of the application. For all I knew, my resume was at the bottom of the to-be-sorted pile. It was my enthusiastic (but still professional) calls to the hiring manager that pushed me to the top. Shout out to my fab manager Jayne!

marriott6 marriott7

I used to think I was custom made for boutique life, but this hospitality thing isn’t bad! I mean, I’m still about 6 months away from understanding the reservation software. But for the most part, I love being a Front Desker! My coworkers are some of the sweetest people I’ve ever met. Hilarious too – and so laid back (Thank God!)

In that same breath, I can tell this company is serious about it’s role in the hospitality industry. I feel challenged every day, encouraged every day, I’m learning every day, and I love making people feel at home here. Marriott takes excellent care of it’s employees – that’s why it is #57 on the Forbes Best Companies to Work For list for 2014. I’m so proud to be a Marriott Desker!

What do you do? What is your favorite part about your job? 

marriott marriott2 marriott3 marriott5 marriott34

One thought on ““Welcome to the Marriott, How May I Assist You?”

  1. Congratulations! That sounds great! It’s so important to like the job you’re in. I’m glad you found that. Your mom have good advice. As for myself, I’m searching for a job still. Maybe I need to be more persistent after turning in resumes like you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

