The Albatross and The Weight of Living

I’ve done it again. I’ve accidentally synchronized my life with another amazing Bastille Song.  I’m still facing Pompeii Moments on a daily basis, and that song helps me pull through every time. As for now, I’m pulling myself out of a slum I’ve been trapped in for a few months.

“When you just can’t shake the heavy weight of living”

I can’t shake it. It’s weighing down on me a lot recently, my mistakes are following me. I’ve been calling it my destructive rampage – I almost screwed up some important relationships, I got behind in classes, I forgot my priorities, all while was I moved out without any money.

The weight of living is never as light as we imagine. We all reach a point when we have to let our Albatross go.

alba1

alba2

The Albatross is a legendary sea bird made famous by the poem “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” by Samuel Coleridge. In the poem, some sailors at stuck at sea forced south into icy waters by a storm. When all hope was lost, the Albatross flew in and perched itself at the helm. As the ice melted the albatross seemed to guide them to salvation.

alba5

Suddenly, one of the mariners shoots the Albatross with a crossbow and it dies. The ship looses it’s good luck omen and the furious crew force the sailor to carry the dead bird around his neck. From this poem comes the metaphor “to have an albatross around the neck”, that means having a burden or an heavy worry.

alba6 alba7

“Your Albatross, let it go, let it go,
Your albatross shoot it down, shoot it down
When you just can’t shake
The heavy weight of living”

alba4

We all have to carry our Albatross at one point – the result of our poor judgement. You’ll have burdens, worries, and mistakes that will follow you. In this song, you’re invited to let them go and live free from the anguish. All you have to do is let them go and sail onward.

Leave a Reply

