Smart Goals – M is for Measurable

arrow4

Are your goals Smart Goals? We’ve already introduced why we need Smart Goals (recap). We also made sure they were Specific enough (recap). Today, we’re making sure our goals are Measurable! Why do we need Measurable goals, you ask?

Because when you measure your progress, you stay on track better. Target dates are within reach.

This aspect can be fun because when you finally hit the mark, you get so pumped and you become that much more driven towards achieving the final goal. Basically, this whole step is making up as many excuses to celebrate as possible.When you’re setting your goals, here’s what you should be asking:

How much? How many? How will I know when it is accomplished?

Get precise! Use dates! Set mile markers. You want to know your degree of success along the way.  I love this example I found.

If you’re trying to “Reduce Expenses”, that’s cool. How? By a dollar a week? Or 10% a month? How will you know when you are successful? Or do you want to save 15% every trip to the grocery store? Or, do you just want to trade fine dining for more home meals? Maybe only eat out once a day to cut down.

Without a way to measure your success you miss out on the celebration that comes with knowing you have actually achieved something.

goals

I’m gonna look at money here. See where I want to double my savings account total? I was on the right track.

I know how much I have, how much I want to end with, and how much I want to increase. So that’s good. But maybe I could do better here.

I want to eat out up to Twice a week only. That will cost $XX amount, and will save me XX amount a month. That can go directly into my savings account. At that rate, I’ll be rich! Every time I eat only once, or none at all, it will be a minor victory!

It’s all about taking the victories as they come. Don’t be afraid to celebrate. Just don’t celebrate saving $5 by ordering a fine lobster dinner. Comprende?

Leave a Reply

