Smart Goals – A is for Achievable

A is for Achievable. Or Attainable. You pick your favorite term and stick to it!

arrow3

So let’s say you’re looking at your goals. Let’s look at some Do’s and Don’ts to get a better idea of what an Achievable goal looks like.

DON’T

set goals outside your limits – or at least your time frame for expanding your skills, ability, or financial capacity. Setting goals you have no hope for achieving will only kill your confidence. I’m not saying don’t dream big. I’m just saying, don’t quit your job to pursue your life long dream of joining the Russian Circus. Dude, you’re not even a gymnast.

DON’T 

Set goals too easy. Talk about anticlimactic. If you didn’t have to work for it, it’s not a true achievement. Soon you’ll get too cozy in the comfort zone and you’ll develop a fear to pursue higher opportunities.

DO

Set goals that require you to “raise the bar”. Think realistic yet challenging. Before you know it, you’ll see your attitude, skill, financial capacity – you name it – getting stronger.  You will see yourself as worthy of these goals, and develop the traits and personality that allow you to possess them.

DO

Keep positive. When challenges arise, you may find yourself doubting your decisions. Really, you just have to keep at it. Find a coach, mentor, trainer to help you keep chugging along. Whatever you do – don’t give up!

I’ve got a good one! Let’s look!

goals

 

Land an advertising internship. I don’t want to brag, but I think this is completely achievable! Especially with my first semester at UT coming up, I will be armed with the knowledge and skill set the companies could really use!

I know I’m pretty lacking in the knowledge right now. I’ve been running on passion lately – but that’s all you need to get started! I also know that if I want to attain this time consuming internship – I’m going to have to cut back on hours at work. This means I might need to pump up my savings account. Which is also on my goals list!  Because I have some time until summer internships begin, I will have to work hard, budget hard, and study hard. PLUS I need to begin networking now so I will stand out of the crowd.

All in all, I’d totally call this an achievable goal! What about yours? How can you tweak yours to fit a more achievable standard?

 

Leave a Reply

