Officers Are Heroes Too.

wpid-1219141451.jpg

Yesterday, about 2 o’clock in the afternoon, I was at the foot of the new One Trade Center – my first visit to New York.

You know what else was going on about 2 o’clock, just across the way in Brooklyn? I’m sure you heard. Someone – a lot of people actually – forgot how much we need our heroes.

It seems we have forgotten what it means to be a hero and how important it is to have  individuals that put their lives on the line for our safety.

At 2 o’clock, I was remembering 9/11.  I felt the need to call my firefighter daddy to tell him thank you – for being a hero and also, for not living in New York, where I could have lost him. But also around that time, someone was deciding they don’t need police anymore – to protect our freedom from the real threats.

On 9/11, we gathered as a nation. We rallied around our heroes and thanked our firemen, paramedics, and police officers for risking their lives for us. 343 firemen and paramedics died. But, I think people forgot – 23 NYPD and 37 Port Authority Officers also died. Remember that? We reached out and shook their hands and thanked them. Because we knew we needed them.

I’m not a political person. I haven’t been following much of the stories.  I know a lot has gone wrong. There are some things we can’t ignore.

But, I guess I’m just thankful that my dad is the other kind of hero. I’m fortunate – I don’t have to worry about riots and people full of hate and confusion and conspiracy threatening my daddy. But there are a lot of families that won’t sleep tonight, who have officers that are under fire. My heart is with you all, and in Brooklyn tonight.

dad fire

I love you Daddy.

Leave a Reply

