The Breastfeeding Photo That Made Me Cringe.

pic

The moment I saw Sara’s breastfeeding photo, I cringed.

Frankly, I was taken aback. It’s not every day you see a mother and child exposed in such an intimate way. The question is why not? See, I didn’t cringe because I was offended or uncomfortable. I cringed because I knew my dear friend was about to catch some grief for breaking the norms. I didn’t want to see this sweet family under attack.

wpid-quickmemo-_2015-03-12-10-55-57.png.png

But as a young woman, and someday a future wife and mother, I find this topic so curious. Do we actually live in a time where mothers can’t comfort their infants when and where they want? Yet, bare-all models for Hooters and Victoria’s Secret are plastered along highways and in media to no end? Why is Sara’s photo considered inappropriate?  Society calls the intimacy of motherhood beautiful, but why are non-mothers the ones drawing the line between beauty and offensive? I don’t understand the rules here, people.

I respect that nursing in public and online may make some people feel uncomfortable. But doesn’t it also make you feel uncomfortable when you sit down at a restaurant and the mother won’t comfort her crying child? Oh wait, we challenge mothers here too. You want her to 1) comfort her child so you can enjoy your night. 2) But don’t comfort the child by nursing at the table. It makes you feel uncomfortable and you can’t enjoy your night. 3) comfort the child, but do it out of your sight. 4) Stop her evening plans, and stop mothering in a natural way.

Society. Let’s get it together here. Was Sara’s photo really reported for nudity?

Fortunately, Facebook was feeling rational that day. They saw the picture and guess what – the forbidden nipple wasn’t exposed. Just a beautiful mother and her beautiful baby girl sharing a moment.

babyy

After the fact, Sara simply commented, “I posted a picture of my beautiful baby eating the way I naturally supply nourishment… Thank you Facebook for supporting breastfeeding ‪#‎normalizebreastfeeding‬“. Point Blank, World. Go Moms.

sar

2 thoughts on “The Breastfeeding Photo That Made Me Cringe.

  1. I’m completely with you on this. Fortunately, over here in Sweden and throughout the rest of Europe, breastfeeding is seen as so much more natural and nobody bats a second eye. Women breastfeed- in public- without covers at all, and it is normal. Exactly as it should be! Thank you for this post!

    • I was so anxious that this post would generate some criticism and I was ready to defend! I was so excited that instead, the first comment was so kind 🙂 thank you so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

